Scholarship Program

Back to Meeting Overview

It is our pleasure to offer a limited number of in-person scholarships to the upcoming CHCI Annual Meeting hosted by UC Berkeley from May 28-June 1, 2024. Scholarships include conference registration, roundtrip airfare, accommodations, conference meals, and entry to the optional member dinner. Any individual from a CHCI member institution may apply for this opportunity. The deadline is February 19, 2024. Applications will be reviewed by a selection committee from the CHCI International Advisory Board, and we anticipate contacting selected individuals by March 4, 2024.

We are opening the scholarship program ahead of publishing our full program or registration in order to provide potential applicants, especially early career scholars and new directors & center staff, an ample amount of time to consider the opportunity.

This year's scholarship recipients:

  • Katie Corboy, Assistant Director, Institute for the Humanities, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Denise Z. Davidson, Prof. of History and Director, Humanities Research Center, George State University
  • Kathy Goodkin, Graduate Assistant, Humanities Network and Consortium, UNC-Greensboro
  • Egemen Ozbek, Academic Coordinator, Academy in Exile, Technische Universität Dortmund
  • Christine Gonzalez Stanton, Executive Director, Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities, Bard College
  • Melinda Takemura, Senior Centre Administrator, Humanities Research Centre, Australian National University

Last year’s scholarship recipients:

  • Vanessa Agnew, Professor, Universität Duisburg-Essen; Director, Critical Thinking Program, Academy in Exile; Honorary Professor, Australian National University

  • Ana María Cárdenas Gasca, Doctoral student, UC Santa Barbara

  • Hee-Jung Serenity Joo, Director, University of Manitoba Institute for the Humanities

  • Evelyn Lambeth, PhD Candidate, University of Tasmania

  • Ricardo A. Velasco Trujillo, PhD. Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Institute for Advanced Study, University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Questions? Please contact Membership and Diversity Officer Aaron Fai,