School of Advanced Study
University of London

Back to Directory

Dean and Chief Executive

Jo Fox Professor, History

Executive Assistant to the Dean

Helen Golding

Chief Operating Officer, Deputy Chief Executive

Elaine Waters


The School of Advanced Study, established within the University of London in 1994, is dedicated to supporting researchers and promoting research in the humanities and social sciences. It receives national funding from the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) for its mission. The School's fundamental purpose is to maintain and develop the resources of its member institutes, many of which have long and distinguished histories, for the benefit of national and international research communities.

The School achieves its national mission by:

- Providing a research base for an international community of scholars. - Inspiring, developing, supporting and creating the conditions for research initiatives and networks. - Enhancing the dissemination of the research of others, and related activities, beyond what they or their institutions could achieve alone. - Providing specialist research training at Master's, doctoral and postdoctoral levels, locally, nationally and internationally.
- Adding value to the work of researchers in the humanities and social sciences throughout the UK.

The School of Advanced Study at the University of London brings together 8 internationally renowned research institutes to form the UK's national centre for the support of researchers and the promotion of research in the humanities and social sciences. We provide a research base for an international community of scholars; help inspire, develop and support the conditions for research initiatives and networks; and enhance the dissemination of research, and related activities, beyond what could be achieved alone. The School is situated at the heart of the University of London in Bloomsbury, central London. We are delighted to be able to participate in the scheme to give SSHRC fellows the opportunity to undertake their research here.

We welcome expressions of interest from candidates wishing to conduct research in one, or more than one, of the following institutes’ subject areas (and their Centres): • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies • Institute of Classical Studies • Institute of Commonwealth Studies • Institute of English Studies • Institute of Modern Languages Research inc. the Centre for Latin American and Caribbean Studies • Institute of Historical Research • Institute of Philosophy • The Warburg Institute

More information on each Institute and their Centres can be accessed via the School’s website. We also welcome applications within the research area of the digital humanities, represented in several institutes across the School. SSHRC fellows at the School or within the Institutes will have access to the following facilities: • desk space and computing facilities • University library and other collection of the Institutes • consultations with the director of the Institute and other academic figures in their field • participation in the School’s internal and public activities

Unfortunately, our support does not extend to financial assistance with relocation or housing. We welcome applications throughout the year (deadlines: for Autumn (deadline 1 July), Spring (deadline 1 Nov) or Summer (deadline1 Feb)). Applications should comprise of: • two-page CV • two-page project description (including objectives, methodology and outcomes) • brief (one-page) statement outlining how the project fits within the research profile of the School and the chosen Institute/Centre. • names of the three academic referees who have agreed to support the application

Applications or initial queries should be addressed to “CHCI Expression of Interest” in the subject header of your email. Final approval will be communicated directly to the applicant by the chosen institute.