College of Humanities
University of Dar es Salaam

Back to Directory
Previous | Next

Principal, College of Humanities

Rose Upor

Administrative Officer

Dorah Semkwiji
Bertram Mapunda


The College of Humanities was formed in 2013 as a result of the 1994 Institutional Transformation Programme (ITP) designed to spearhead transformation in the University organizational structure in order to correspond to local and global changes and challenges.

The college is organized into 6 academic departments (foreign languages and linguistics; history; creative arts; literature; philosophy and religious studies; and archaeology and heritage studies) and 1 centre (the centre for communications studies).