Fellowships at European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS)

European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS)
Deadline: 5 June 2015

The European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Programme is an international researcher mobility programme offering 10-month residencies in one of the 16 participating Institutes: Berlin, Bologna, Budapest, Cambridge, Delmenhorst, Edinburgh, Freiburg, Helsinki, Jerusalem, Lyon, Marseille, Paris, Uppsala, Vienna, Wassenaar, Zürich. The Institutes for Advanced Study support the focused, self-directed work of outstanding researchers. The fellows benefit from the finest intellectual and research conditions and from the stimulating environment of a multi-disciplinary and international community of first-rate scholars.

EURIAS Fellowships are mainly offered in the fields of the humanities and social sciences but may also be granted to scholars in life and exact sciences, provided that their proposed research project does not require laboratory facilities and that it interfaces with humanities and social sciences. The diversity of the 16 participating IAS offers a wide range of possible research contexts in Europe for worldwide scholars. Applicants may select up to three IAS outside their country of nationality or residence as possible host institutions.

The Programme welcomes applications worldwide from promising young scholars as well as from leading senior researchers. The EURIAS selection process has proven to be highly competitive. To match the Programme standards, applicants have to submit a solid and innovative research proposal, to demonstrate the ability to forge beyond disciplinary specialisation, to show an international commitment as well as quality publications in high-impact venues.

For the 2016-2017 academic year EURIAS offers 43 fellowships (21 junior and 22 senior positions).


At the time of the application, researchers must be in possession of a doctoral degree plus 2 years of full-time research experience after the degree. Exception is made for Law scholars who are eligible with a Master +6 years of full-time research experience after the degree. (PhD training is not considered in the calculation of experience).

The programme is open to all disciplines in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
It also welcomes applications from the arts, life and exact sciences provided that:
• the research project does not require any intensive laboratory work,
• the research project interfaces with humanities and social sciences,
• the applicant has a proven capacity to dialogue with other scientific disciplines,
• the candidate applies to an IAS that welcome scholars outside the humanities and social sciences.

• Applications are submitted online via www.eurias-fp.eu, where, you will find detailed information regarding the content of the application, eligibility criteria, and selection procedure.
• Applications period April 9th → June 5th, 2015, 12 pm (noon) GMT.
• Late applications will not be considered.

• Scientific assessment by two international reviewers
• Pre-selection by the international EURIAS Scientific Committee
• Final selection by the IAS Academic Boards
• Publication of results: January 2016

For further information on the Programme and information on the IAS and their specific working conditions, please consult our website: www.eurias-fp.eu